2015 Exchange Club Scholarship Essay Winners

The topic of the competition was "ARE THE FREEDOMS IN THE BILL OF RIGHTS ABSOLUTE?"

John Murphy, Senior Attorney of California Supreme Court, and Cheryl Cook-Kallio, James Madison Scholar and 38-year teacher presented a panel of U.S. Constitutional court rulings to competitors for the Exchange Club of San Ramon Valley American Heritage Scholarship. Chair Donna Kerger added a third well-known judge, Roz Rogoff for the San Ramon Observer to determine this year's winners.

Thanks to PG&E sponsorship support, Karen Stepper unveiled awards at the San Ramon City Council Meeting: $1,500 First Place to Mimi Evans, Dougherty Valley High School Senior; $1,000 Second Place to Benjamin Weinstein, San Ramon Valley High School Senior; and $500 Third Place to Luke Compopiano, California High School Junior. The staff for Exchange Club Members Assemblywoman Baker and Supervisor Andersen presented recognition certificates to the students. Shown below are the competition winners along with civic leaders.

From left to right: Luke Compopiano (3rd), Ben Weinstein (2nd), Mimi Evans (1st), Mayor Bill Clarkson and Past Exchange President Karen Stepper

Scholarship Presentation: From left to right: Donna Kerger, Jennifer Quallick, Nick Binzoni, Tom Eager, Luke Compopiano, Ben Weinstein, Mimi Evans, San Ramon Mayor Clarkson, Danville Vice Mayor Karen Stepper

We want to express our appreciation to the students and families who attended the award presentation. We know that many teachers and families encouraged the students to have a deeper understanding of the U.S. Constitution. Special thanks is also extended to our wonderful sponsors.